My Frightening ‘Sunday School’ Experience

June 14, 2008

Last Saturday, I was given the opportunity to attend my Christian Home School graduation in my area. I had many friends graduating and moving on in life (Unfortunately, many of them are leaving home for secular college.). At the particular church it was hosted at, there was a room in the back part of the building called the ‘Jr. & Sr. High Room’. Immediately my thoughts turned into, Uh oh, this is going to be a typical no-Bible, no-sound doctrine room. To a large degree I was indeed right, but what I saw literally frightened me.

I have indeed been in room such as these before. In the last ‘church’ I attended, they had a similar room. In reality, I was not exactly surprised by what I saw, but I was indeed shocked to see the extreme proportions to which it extended. I will attempt to give you an idea of what this room looked like:

  • Band stage, complete with drum set, bass guitar, electric guitar, mikes, and other instruments.
  • Large projector screen
  • Projector
  • Flat screen (approx. 30″) HD TV
  • Pool table, ice hockey table, ping pong table, foosball table, another table similar to the pool table
  • Popcorn machine
  • Lava and glitter lamp
  • Two sets of round, black bar tables with four chairs each
  • Two large rows of unmatched lazy chairs, couches, and love seats arranged in front of the band stage

If I had simply given the list at the beginning of this post without a name, what would it remind you of? A teenage recreational center is what it made me think of; and in reality, that’s all it really is. I couldn’t find a Bible or doctrinal book of any sort, or any form of a stand for holding papers a teacher might use to talk to the teens. I can’t imagine that there is any sort of true, sound, Biblical teaching given in that room at all.

This room created thoughts in my head. I have had other thoughts about this rubbish before, but this time I had something solid to ponder on. That room offers no truth whatsoever. Is it any wonder that the vast majority of teens in the church leave when that is the kind of ‘Sunday school’ they are receiving? They are getting Bible stories from church and not true sound doctrine and the answers that they need to be giving to the world when they are challenged. Does not Peter say ” Now who is there to harm you if you are zealous for what is good?  But even if you should suffer for righteousness’ sake, you will be blessed. Have no fear of them, nor be troubled, but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect, having a good conscience, so that, when you are slandered, those who revile your good behavior in Christ may be put to shame. For it is better to suffer for doing good, if that should be God’s will, than for doing evil.” (1 Peter 3:13-17, ESV)

I hope that this will encourage those who read this would seek to read the Scriptures, and earnestly seek after truth, and set aside this rubbish the modern ‘church’ has to offer. I certainly look forward to spending my Sabbath worshipping the Lord in spirit and truth tomorrow morning, and I certainly don’t need any entertainment to do so.

Leave a Reply

