A Time to Ponder

September 3, 2007

Hello everyone. I thought I would do something a little different today. I thought I would write an encouragment rather than an informational post. Over the last few days, I have been very busy and preoccupied. As we all know, school is starting on September 4th (at least that is when all of the schools near me start), getting my schoolbooks and schedule worked out at home is time-consuming, and finding time to do the things I want seems to have shrunk, especially since I am hosting several families tomorrow for my birthday dinner. (I will be turning 16, and will be driving alone on October 23rd, if I pass the test…)

In all of the busy time, I needed to remind myself that life may be busy, but we must always set time aside for the study and reading of God’s Word. I personally don’t tend to read all that much, although I do enjoy G.A. Henty a lot, and I find it difficult to set myself down and read a book. Reading something doctrinal is hard. It is not something that you do lightly. I have been reminding myself that I need to get a book to read. I have several on my shelf, but none of them seem to stick out to me. I did, however, buy a book from my church called “A Method for Prayer” by Matthew Henry (good name). That is the book I plan on reading soon. I may even include excerpts of it in some of my posts here.

Now that my rambling is almost over, let me tell you plainly my encouragment. Be in God’s Word. Study it. Meditate upon it. It is something all of us need to do. I would highly suggest reading a passage or two of Scripture in the morning before you start your day, and then read a commentary of it (I personally read Henry’s commentary, so reading another book of his will be interesting). That is my encouragment to everyone today.

In Christ,
Matt

One Response to “A Time to Ponder”

  1. Patty Bublitz Says:

    Thanks Matthew for the encouragement. As I prepare for the start of another school year I’m reminded through your posting of how easy it is to get caught up in the challenge of trying to balance all areas of my life. May God, His Word and Prayer take precedence!
    A while back I started reading The Valley of Vision which is a collection of Puritan prayers and devotions. The wording is almost poetic. Seems every time I read a passage it cuts straight to the heart and I’m left with the thought “I couldn’t have said it better”.


Leave a Reply

