My Ancestry

August 14, 2007

It may seem strange that I am posting about my own ancestors here on Solus Cristus, but yesterday I discovered that, through some of the research of my grandfather, that my great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great-great (10 greats if you have are having trouble following) grandparents were John Alden and Priscilla Mullins.

I was surprised that one of my ancestors, John Alden, is one of the most famous Pilgrims aboard the Mayflower in 1620. On top of that, his wife Priscilla, too. If anyone has ever read the poem ‘The Courtship of Miles Standish‘ by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, it speaks of how Miles Standish had a love for Priscilla, but she and John Alden were already lovers, in a sense.

I feel extremely priveledged to be a grandson of these two great men and women of God. I feel a responsibility now to study more about them, which I will do, and hopefully sometime I will post my findings on them.

Here is the ancestry line from me to John Alden and Priscilla Mullins:
Matt Wells (still living) – David Wells (still living) – William Wells (still living) – Ruby Colvin (still living) – Mabel White – Jennie Daker – David M Baker – Mary Molly Mason – Abigail Seabury – David Seabury – Elizabeth Alden – David Alden – John Alden and Priscilla Mullins.

2 Responses to “My Ancestry”

  1. Tom Chantry Says:

    Pretty neat! Mrs. Chantry is descended from Henry Samson, another Mayflower passenger, although he was not, like the Aldens, a member of the separatist congregation.

  2. Matt Wells Says:

    That is very cool, Mr. Chantry. But let her know that my ancestry, on the other hand, is superior to hers because mine were Pilgrims and separatists and hers were not. ;-)


Leave a Reply

