Apologetix: A Christian Joke

January 8, 2007

Has anyone ever heard of a group called Apologetix?

This group is a band that claims to be Christian, and they play songs with Christian lyrics. I got a two CDs of theirs this Christmas. It had been recommended by my uncle, and was given to me by another. I thought, “Hmmm, this might be good.” Boy was I wrong.

Why are they a joke? They are a joke because of where they get their song ideas.

I looked on the back of their CD’s and found that their music is taken from secular and pagan bands, and changes the lyrics to be Christian. What kinds of bands? Well, for instance, there was Green Day, Ozzy Osborne, Queen, Eminemm, and the list goes on. They have 12 CDs, all of which contain the same things. All of the world’s music with ‘Christian’ lyrics.

Why is this so terrible, a joke? Romans 12:2 says, “Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” We are not to conform to this world. We are not to act like the world, be like the world, nor live like the world. We must set ourselves apart from the secular and pagan ideas and regulations. We must make the Scriptures our one and only regulation.

We must refrain from taking ideas from the world and applying them to Christianity.
If I were to listen to that, and a Christian friend of mine asked what I was listening to, would I be proud to tell him that the music is hard rock and based off of worldly ideas? How coud I be? I would be proud to tell him, however,that I listen to groups such as Sons of Korah, Caedmon’s Call, Buddy Davis, and Keith Getty. These are music groups I would be proud to listen to, but I hate to think that Christians listen to these worldly music and enjoy them.

Leave a Reply

