God’s Infinite Glory

December 17, 2006

Has anyone ever gone stargazing? No, not just look up at the sky for a few minutes seeing if you can find the Big Dipper. I mean looking up at the stars for a long time and finding as much as you can. A few days ago, there was a meteor shower, one of the biggest meteor showers of the year. Approximately 58 meteors per hour. I went outside on my back porch to watch. I put on my coat and slippers and sat on reclining lawn chair for nearly 45 minutes (I had to go to bed. It was 11:00 PM) just looking for metors.

Yeah, I did see several, but after about 15 minutes just staring at the sky, I realized that meteors were not as cool as what the sky looked like. I have occasionally looked up at the sky on a clear night to find the Big Dipper and Orion, but I never have looked at the sky for so long. Why am I writing about this? Because something amazing happened to the look of the sky.

When you look up at the night sky for a few seconds, you may see a few constalations. After about 20 min., you begin to see more and more stars, but not only that, the starts begin to ‘pop out’ of the sky, and you can see the depth of the stars compared to the sky. When I looked, I felt like I was in space and that I could see billions of miles of blackness. The vast immensness and beauty of it all struck me full in the face. I never realized that even though I live in a fairly highly populated area with lots of lights could I see that much of the sky. No photograph ever could have given me that experience.

I have seen many shows on TV of the universe and our galaxy, but never have appreciated the amazing design of it. To think that there are billions of stars and galaxies billions of miles away from us here on earth really took a toll on me that night. As I continued to gaze, I couldn’t help but keep thinking, “How on earth could people who teach in schools and churches believe that random chance, evolution, and a big bang could produce such beauty and design?” I always have believed in the creation, but I never have had the appreciation of it until that night. I recalled Psalm 19:1: “The heavens declare the glory of God, and the firmament shows His handiwork.”

All of creation declares the glory of God. The trees, animals, the earth, and the heavens all show His glory and magnitude. I wish I could express in writing how marveled and humbled I am because of this experience.

Leave a Reply

